Washington County prepares to vote

By David Hotle, The JOURNAL


Washington County Auditor Dan Widmer reported today that so far 117 people have either voted at the auditor?s office in the city election scheduled for Nov. 7 or have requested an absentee ballot be mailed to them.

Friday, Nov. 3, is the deadline for requesting an absentee ballot. Widmer said the auditor?s office would be open until 5 p.m. that day.

He said ballots being mailed in need to be postmarked no later than Nov. 3. Widmer also said people can vote absentee at the courthouse. He said people need to vote no later than 11 a.m. Nov. 7.

He said on Nov. 7 the polls will open at noon and close at 8 p.m. He said the auditor?s office can inform people who are unsure where they go to vote.

Widmer also reminded voters whose polling place was previously the former Washington Public Library will now vote in the United Presbyterian Home?s Stewart Hall Chapel at 1203 E. Washington St. beginning with the Nov. 7 election. He said the polls will be located on the northeast corner of the building. He said parking is available there. He also said the polling place is located right across the street from Immanuel Lutheran Church. The polling place will serve voters from Wards 2 and 3.

The remaining Washington voters will vote in the Washington County Courthouse. Widmer said maps of the precincts are available in the auditor?s office.

Widmer also said there have been election reforms approved by the Iowa Legislature. During this election, Washington County poll workers hope to get Washington County voters used to presenting identification to vote. He said voters are asked to bring identification to the polling place with them. He said that people this time who forget to bring identification will still get to vote.


Candidates included in the Nov. 7 election include:


No challenged races have been reported in Ainsworth. Incumbent mayor Troy McCarthy has filed to seek another four-year term as mayor. Seeking three four-year council seats are newcomer Tim Bean and incumbents Virginia Schuerman and Jared Waters.



Races for the mayor?s office and one of the council positions has been reported in Brighton. Incumbent Mayor Robert B. Farley will face off against council veteran David Hagans. In the council race, three people have applied for two positions. On the ballot will be incumbent Charles J. Emry and newcomers Rose Jaynes and David E. McArtor.



In Crawfordsville, five people have filed to seek three seats on the city council. Running for the positions are Sheila Baker, Cory Hogue, incumbent Gene Miller, incumbent Carolyn Steele and Catherina Williams. Incumbent Mayor Craig Davey is seeking another four-year term as mayor.



Four people will face off for three seats on the Kalona City Council. Incumbents Mark Robe, Joe Schmidt, and Craig Spitzer and incumbent Ronald C. Slechta have filed to seek the offices.



In Riverside, both the mayor race and the council race are contested. In the Mayor?s race, incumbent Allen Schneider will run against newcomer Joseph A. Graff. Running for two seats on the council are incumbents Ralph Schnoebelen and Tom Sexton and newcomers Edgar McGuire and Andy Rodgers.



The Washington mayor?s office and two of the three open offices will be contested. In the mayor?s race, council member Jaron Rosien will face off against Pete Schaefer. Incumbent Steve Gault is running for a four-year term as the Ward 2 representative. In the Ward 4 contest, incumbents Bob Gaal, Chris Gault and Fran Stigers have all filed papers to run. In the council at-large seat left vacant by council member Cathryn Salazar, newcomers Elaine Moore and Evie Richarddson have filed.



In Wellman, incumbent Mayor Ryan Miller is running unopposed. In the council election, Mark Philpot and incumbent Shannon McCain have filed to run for two open council seats.



In the unopposed West Chester council race, incumbent mayor Chad Peiffer has filed papers to run again. Incumbent council members Steven Lippard and Vanessa Wasson and newcomers Andrew barnhart, Ron Carey and Ruth Lankford have filed to run for five open seats.



Anyone having questions should contact the Washington County Auditor?s Office (319) 653-7717.