Washington County goes to the polls

By David Hotle, The JOURNAL


Polls for the city elections will open Tuesday at noon, and close at 8 p.m. People who are unsure where to go to vote can contact the Washington County Auditor?s office for the information

People can still vote absentee at the courthouse. People voting absentee must do so in the auditor?s office no later than 11 a.m. Tuesday.

Washington County Auditor Dan Widmer said there have been election reforms approved by the Iowa Legislature. He said one of the big changes is voters need to present identification to vote. While the changes have not been implemented yet. Widmer said the auditor?s office will start asking people for identification. Widmer said voters are asked to bring identification to the polling place with them. He said that people this time who forget to bring identification will still get to vote. He said this is starting to get people into the mind-set of providing identification.



Incumbent mayor Troy McCarthy has filed to seek another four-year term as mayor. Seeking three four-year council seats are newcomer Tim Bean and incumbents Virginia Schuerman and Jared Waters. The polling place will be in the Ainsworth Fire Station at 645 Highway 92.



Incumbent Mayor Robert B. Farley will face off against council veteran David Hagans. In the council race, three people have applied for two positions. On the ballot will be incumbent Charles J. Emry and newcomers Rose Jaynes and David E. McArtor. The polling place will be in the Brighton Municipal Building at 100 E. Washington St.



Running for three positions on the city council are Sheila Baker, Cory Hogue, incumbent Gene Miller, incumbent Carolyn Steele and Catherine Williams. Incumbent Mayor Craig Davey is seeking another four-year term as mayor. The polling place is Crawfordsville City Hall at 105 N. Main St.



Four people will face off for three seats on the Kalona City Council. Incumbents Mark Robe, Joe Schmidt, and Craig Spitzer and incumbent Ronald C. Slechta have filed to seek the offices. The polling place will be the Kalona Public Library at 510 C Avenue.



In Riverside the Mayor?s race, incumbent Allen Schneider will run against newcomer Joseph A. Graff. Running for two seats on the council are incumbents Ralph Schnoebelen and Tom Sexton and newcomers Edgar McGuire and Andy Rodgers. The polling place is Riverside City Hall at 60 Greene St.



In Washington, council member Jaron Rosien will face off against Pete Schaefer for the mayor?s seat. Incumbent Steve Gault is running for a four-year term as the Ward 2 representative. In the Ward 4 contest, incumbents Bob Gaal, Chris Gault and Fran Stigers have all filed papers to run. In the council at-large seat left vacant by council member Cathryn Salazar, newcomers Elaine Moore and Evie Richardson have filed. The polling place for Wards 1 and 4 will be at the Washington County Courthouse at 222 W. Main St. The polling place for Wards 2 and 3 will be the United Presbyterian Home Stewart Hall Chapel at 1203 E. Washington St.



In Wellman, incumbent Mayor Ryan Miller is running unopposed. In the council election, Mark Philpot and incumbent Shannon McCain have filed to run for two open council seats. In Wellman the polling place is Parkside Activity Center at 525 13th St.



In the unopposed West Chester council race, incumbent mayor Chad Peiffer has filed papers to run again. Incumbent council members Steven Lippard and Vanessa Wasson and newcomers Andrew Barnhart, Ron Carey and Ruth Lankford have filed to run for five open seats. The West Chester polling place is in the Heritage Building at 510 Main St.


Anyone having questions should contact the Washington County Auditor?s Office (319) 653-7717.