Remaining state qualifiers announced

Area teams saw their state qualifying contingent grow when the respective state organizations released its tentative list of the remaining state qualifiers. The list will be confirmed sometime today

The top two finishers in each event at the Class 2A and 3A district track meets Thursday qualified for the state meet May 17-19. In addition, the next best eight times from all the districts that did not finish in the top two also will qualify. In Class 1A, just the district winners qualified, then the next best 14 times that did not win were added.

Washington High School added the boys 4x100 meter relay team of Mario Tapia, Tanner Murphy, Spencer Sotelo and Sawyer Whisler, which finished third at the district meet, to automatic qualifiers Ethan Hunt in the 400 meters, the 4x800 meter relay team, the sprint medley team and the shuttle hurdle, which all finished second.

Washington?s girls automatic qualifiers were Hannah Anderson and Jenah Greiner in the long jump, the 4x1 with Leah Marek, Isabel Bailey, Greiner and Anderson and the 4x2 with Marek, Bailey, Ashley Telleen and Greiner. Anderson?s time in the 200 added her in that even and Telleen in the 400 hurdles was added as was the 4x4 with Marek, Greiner, Anderson and Telleen.

Mid-Prairie?s boys won their 2A district with nine events automatically qualified. Five more events were added. Those were Terrhyn Jacoby, who finished fourth at districts in the 100 meters, Cary Schaefer, who was fourth in the 400 and third in the 800, Quinn Schmidt, who was fifth in the 400, and Marshall Teets, who was fourth in the 800.

Mid-Prairie?s girls added two events to the nine automatics ? Kessa Jones in the 400 hurdles and Maddie Edgington, Cassidy Rourke, Amber Swart and Abbagail Evans in the sprint medley relay.

In addition to Colton Horak?s qualifying win in the 400 hurdles, WACO also will send Elijah McGohan in the 400, the shuttle hurdle team of John Skriver, McGohan, Drew Kissell and Horak and the sprint medley team of Calvin Battle Jr., Kissell, Horak and McGohan. The girls shuttle hurdle team of Kiana Miller, Grace Conwell, Laney Graber and Molly McLaughlin also qualified.

Highland?s Zack Lasek will go to state in the discus and the girls added two relays to Emily Yahnke?s two district wins. Yahnke has the fourth-fastest qualifying time at 12.67 in the 100 meters. Rylan Santi of Madrid and Shaylee Siebens both have qualified at 12.56.

Yahnke has the best long jump from the district meets and teammate Aly Stokes, who was fifth at district, qualified for state with the 22nd best leap of 15-5.

Yahnke anchored the 4x100 meter relay team to second place which did not automatically qualify for state. The team qualified as their time was the third best in the state. The 4x2 was an even better story as they finished second at district and have the second best time in the state.

Suzanna Yoder of Iowa Mennonite School has the 22nd best time at 13.32 in the 100 which was fifth in the district. Yoder also qualified in the 400 with the 12th best time of 1 minute, 2.25 seconds which was second at district.

Levi Geyer added a second in the 1600 at district to his win in the 3200. His 1600 time is 12th in the state, sixth fastest of non-winners at district.

Keota had two boys events qualify.

The 4x2 relay team of J.D. Stout, Wyatt Sieren, Logan Sieren and Luke Greiner was fourth at district and got the last qualifying spot for state.

The distance medley relay team of Stout, Greiner, Logan Sieren and Justin Moeller was third at district and made it to state with the 13th best time.