Foundation elects directors for 2018

By Xiomara Levsen, The JOURNAL


RIVERSIDE ? The Washington County Riverboat Foundation board elected three new directors and officers for the 2018 year at its meetings last Thursday.

The board held the annual meeting first, executive assistant Jim Logan said. They set the number of directors in 2018 to 14.

Three new board members were also elected ? Scott Freeman, Dave Erwin and Kathleen Brinning for three-year terms. Jaden Prottsman, Tom Basten and David Mitchell were approved to serve another three-year term on the board.

During the regular business meeting, the election of officers was held.

Mitchell is president, Prottsman is vice president, Basten is secretary and Kathy Rich is treasurer for 2018.

Doug Tindal was selected for another year as the board?s legal counsel.

The board also reviewed and approved municipal grants for the cities of Brighton, Coppock, Kalona, Riverside and Washington.

The amounts approved were: in Brighton $10,000 for sidewalks project, $20,000 for nuisance abatement and $10,000 for Freedom Rock; in Coppock $800 for its rural water project; in Kalona $8,200 for library furniture, $4,000 for downtown streetscape, $3,130 for signage at the park, $30,000 for consession stand renovation, $50,000 for the Community Center project and $29,740 for park enhancements; Riverside received $60,000 for its drainage project; Washington received $225,000 for the business park project and $200,000 for the Wellness Park project; and West Chester received $4,600 for city hall tuckpointing and $3,400 for street work.

Finally, the due date for the spring grant applications was set for April 4, Logan said. The amount being awarded at the spring grants will be set at a later date.