Demons place nine wrestlers on All-Conference wrestling teams

By Matt Bryant, The JOURNAL


The Washington wrestling team claimed four spots on the Southeast Conference first team, and added five more on to the second team. The Demons successful season had eight wrestlers qualify for the district meet and moved three of those wrestlers on to the State Tournament.

First team selections for the Demons included Walker Ikerd at 120-pounds, Dillan Sanders at 132-pounds, Tristin Westphal-Edwards at 170-pounds and Colin Murphy at 182-pounds.

Ikerd, a junior, finished the season at 34-8 and qualified for the State Tournament. Sophomore Dillan Sanders earned a spot at the District Tournament, falling just short of a state berth, and ended with a 29-17 record. Westphal-Edwards returned to the State Tournament for his junior season, which capped a solid 45-3 season record. Murphy ended his senior campaign at districts with a season record of 32-14.

Second team selections included Garrett Ikerd at 138-pounds, David Hora at 145-pounds, Kiowa Keith at 152-pounds, Tanner Murphy at 195-pounds and Mitchell Huisenga at 285-pounds.

Junior Garrett Ikerd made it through to districts where he finished his season at 25-12. Hora, 28-13, ended his junior season at the Sectional Tournament. Keith also finished up at sectionals and ended his senior season with a 26-16 record. Tanner Murphy bounced between 195 and 220-pounds for his senior run and put together a 31-8 record and district appearance. Huisenga wrestled for the final time in his high school career at the State Tournament where his season ended at 30-8.

Announced along with the All-Conference selections were the conferences All-Academic qualifiers. To be included in the All-Academic selection, an athlete had to be a junior or senior and earn a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher. Washington wrestlers David Hora, Garrett Ikerd and Brennan Murphy, along with wrestling cheerleaders Alexis Edwards and Baylee Stalder earned the All-Academic honor.

First Team All-Conference Selections: 106 ? Corbin Broeker, Mt. Pleasant; 113 ? Brayden Ackles, Mt. Pleasant; 120 ? Walker Ikerd, Washington; 126 ? Ryan Steffensmeier, Ft. Madison; 132 ? Dillan Sanders, Washington; 145 ? Aaron Steffensmeier, Ft. Madison; 152 ? Harlan Steffensmeier, Ft. Madison; 160 ? Dylan Jeffers, Keokuk; 170 ? Tristin Westphal-Edwards, Washington; 182 ? Collin Murphy, Washington; 195 ? Sam Hayes, Ft. Madison; 220 ? Dalton Bass, Mt. Pleasant; 285 ? Brendon Lunsford, Fairfield.

Second Team All-Conference Selections: 106 ? Elton Kruse, Ft, Madison; 113 ? Jonah Cooper, Fairfield; 120 ? Dayne Cordray, Ft. Madison; 126 ? Tyler Raub, Mt. Pleasant; 132 ? Nathan Steffensmeier, Ft. Madison; 138 ? Garrett Ikerd, Washington; 145 ? David Hora, Washington; 152 ? Kiowa Keith, Washington; 160 ? Garrett Boecker, Mt. Pleasant; 170 ? James DeMeyer, Mt. Pleasant; 182 ? Brennen Bender, Mt. Pleasant; 195 ? Tanner Murphy, Washington; 220 ? Dannen Settles, Ft. Madison; 285 ? Mitchell Huisenga, Washington.

Team Conference Standings: First ? Washington, 4-0; Second ? Mt. Pleasant, 3-1; Third ? Ft. Madison, 2-2; Fourth ? Fairfield, 1-3; Fifth ? Keokuk, 0-4.