Competition could increase vote

By David Hotle, The JOURNAL


Washington County Auditor Dan Widmer said today that about 350 people had voted absentee in the municipal elections being held today and he expects more people than normal for municipal elections to come out due to contested races.

Still, Widmer commented, municipal races are normally a small draw for Washington County voters. He believes this is one of the reasons that school and municipal elections are going to be combined in two years. The polls will open at noon today and run until 8 p.m.

Results of the elections will be posted on the Washington Evening Journal?s website as soon as they become available and will be posted in the Nov. 8 edition of The Washington Evening Journal.

Candidates and polling places include:



Incumbent mayor Troy McCarthy has filed to seek another four-year term as mayor. Seeking three four-year council seats are newcomer Tim Bean and incumbents Virginia Schuerman and Jared Waters. The polling place will be in the Ainsworth Fire Station at 645 Highway 92.



Incumbent Mayor Robert B. Farley is running against council veteran David Hagans. In the council race, three people have applied for two positions. On the ballot will be incumbent Charles J. Emry and newcomers Rose Jaynes and David E. McArtor. The polling place will be in the Brighton Municipal Building at 100 E. Washington St.



Running for three positions on the city council are Sheila Baker, Cory Hogue, incumbent Gene Miller, incumbent Carolyn Steele and Catherine Williams. Incumbent Mayor Craig Davey is seeking another four-year term as mayor. The polling place is Crawfordsville City Hall at 105 N. Main St.



Four people are running for three seats on the Kalona City Council. Incumbents Mark Robe, Joe Schmidt, and Craig Spitzer and incumbent Ronald C. Slechta are seeking the offices. The polling place will be the Kalona Public Library at 510 C Avenue.



In Riverside the Mayor?s race, incumbent Allen Schneider is running against newcomer Joseph A. Graff. Running for two seats on the council are incumbents Ralph Schnoebelen and Tom Sexton and newcomers Edgar McGuire and Andy Rodgers. The polling place is Riverside City Hall at 60 Greene St.



In Washington, council member Jaron Rosien is running against Pete Schaefer for the mayor?s seat. Incumbent Steve Gault is running for a four-year term as the Ward 2 representative. In the Ward 4 contest, incumbents Bob Gaal, Chris Gault and Fran Stigers are all running for the vacant seat. In the council at-large seat left vacant by council member Kathryn Salazar, newcomers Elaine Moore and Evie Richardson are running. The polling place for Wards 1 and 4 will be at the Washington County Courthouse at 222 W. Main St. The polling place for Wards 2 and 3 will be the United Presbyterian Home Stewart Hall Chapel at 1203 E. Washington St.



In Wellman, incumbent Mayor Ryan Miller is running unopposed. In the council election, Mark Philpot and incumbent Shannon McCain have filed to run for two open council seats. In Wellman the polling place is Parkside Activity Center at 525 13th St.



In the unopposed West Chester council race, incumbent mayor Chad Peiffer is running again. Incumbent council members Steven Lippard and Vanessa Wasson and newcomers Andrew Barnhart, Ron Carey and Ruth Lankford have filed to run for five open seats. The West Chester polling place is in the Heritage Building at 510 Main St.